In 2005, a Mexican hip-hop documentary produced by Canal 22 premiered, and to the best of my knowledge, it´s the best visual document yet of hip-hop culture in Mexico City. It feels a little dated. Big Metra, goes by Bigger B or something like that. Big Metra won this year´s DJ Concept award for best MC. I was always impressed he got Jada on a track.

My only problem with this is the use of Maldita Vecindad´s Rocco as the narrator. While Rocco is by no means lacking in any hip-hop cred, his Cyber Pachukote, raga-styled music isn´t quite purist hip-hop like I know a lot chavitos like their music. Rocco is still dope at the end of the day, and he reps hard for the indigenous people´s all over Latin America. My kind of dude.

I´d found this doc on youtube months ago, but the good folks at Cabezas under. compiled the whole flick in one post. Enjoy.

Leave a comment