Wow. Huge lapse in the blogging. Sorry about that, my (very) few keeping count.

Shout to Google for keeping me somewhat relevant, and for the kind soul who shared a post on Bocafloja with their Myspace posse.  Let’s keep this rap en Español convo going.  I really believe that the next frontier of hip-hop is going to be popular rap in a language other than English (or French). As our Latino population grows (while not at the same time as our ability to speak Spanish) I think people will come to appreciate the different mix of ideas and the stretching and pulling of rap music in the form of other tongues.  Maybe I sound crazy, but if you told a B-Boy rapping in a cipher circa 1985 New York that one day, not only would the South run rap, but also Chicago and even England a little bit, they would laugh you out of the Bronx. Now hasn’t that come to pass?

With that said, I want to keep everyone interested in my explorations of hip-hop culture out here in Mexico, which I hope explains the title of this here post. I attended an automobile expo this past weekend (July 3rd-5th, 2009) in Santa Fe, known as the business-y part of Mexico City. Utterly amazing architecture in this part of town. I learned two things at the expo that had nothing to do with the ‘car girls’ running around, 1.) Hip-hop isn’t going away here. And, 2.) Although it’s not the money-making operation it once was and sometimes can be here in the U.S., there’s still a culture with deep roots and dedicated practitioners.

Now, the car show existed long before rap. And somewhere along the line, hip-hop culture became infused with car culture and now the two are one.  Of course cars and sex have always gone together, so somewhere hip-hop gets tossed into the mix.

In this installment of Automobile Erotica and Rap, I’ll just give you a little sample of what went down at the 3rd Tuning expo in Mexico City this weekend.

Rapper Zw (pronounced Swoo) from the Iztapalapa/Neza crew Manicomio Clan was there to show his freestyle skills.

Reggaetoneros/rappers 330 Studio showcased their blend of styles after a wet bikini contest. What’s car show without the wet bikinis?

More later in the week….

[ READ PART II ]

4 thoughts on “AUTOMOBILES, EROTICA And RAP, Pt.I

  1. I love it Camilo . . . good commentary, excellent use of videos and variety of them as well. And all I can say is the first video is hilarious . . . were there any women there who were NOT being paid to show up?

Leave a comment